Region 5

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio

APA Region V Meeting
Friday, March 1, 2019
Beaumont Health
Royal Oak, MI

APA Region V Newsletter
July 12, 2018

Hello Region V!

We hope that you are enjoying summer thus far!
As the first order of business, we would like to welcome our new co-chair, Mary Beth Wroblewski, from the University of Toledo in Ohio. Mary Beth is a general pediatrician, as well as the Pediatric Residency Program Director in Toledo. We are very excited to have her join our team!

We would also like to send our heartfelt thanks to our outgoing co-chair, Dr. Kim Schneider, from Riley Hospital for Children in Indianapolis, for her outstanding mentorship and hard work for the past 3 years! Kim will truly be missed (but we still have her phone number, so we won’t let her get too far away 😊).

Here are the highlights from the first half of 2018…

Regional Conference 2018
This year’s regional conference was on March 2, 2017 at Loyola University Medical Center in Chicago. We would like to thank all of our amazing speakers: Dr. Steve Goldstein MD, PhD (keynote address), Dr. H Barrett Fromme MD, MHPE (workshop presenter), Dr. Jonathan Muraskas, MD, Dr. Wayne Franklin, MD, MPH, and Dr. Ramzan Shahid, MD. We would also like to thank Dr. Susan Bostwick, President of the APA, for joining us and presenting the APA annual update.
We had over 40 residents and students present their work. A special thanks to all who encouraged their learners to submit and to all the abstract reviewers who made this possible. The top scorers in each category were:

    Original Science:
    1st place (Resident): Patrick Cazilas, MD, University of Illinois at Peoria
    1st place (Medical Student): Katelyn Gordon, University of Cincinnati
    1st place (Fellow): Meredith Merkley, MD: Nationwide Children's Hospital
    Case presentations:
    1st place: Colleen Mathis, MD: University of Michigan
    2nd place: Emily Hogikyan: University of Michigan Medical School
    3rd place: Xiaoxi Ouyang, MD: Indiana University School of Medicine

The Regional Breakfast at PAS in Toronto was held on May 7, 2018. Our regional conference winners listed above were invited to present their posters and our first-place finishers, Dr. Patrick Cazilas and Dr. Colleen Mathis, were invited to give oral presentations. Congratulations to all of the presenters!
Region Delegates
The APA would like each institution in our region to recruit a Region Delegate (formerly known as Institution Rep). This person acts a liaison to the co-chairs and as a resource for others at that site. Below is the list of current Region Delegates. If you do not see your institution on the list and you would like to get involved, please contact one of us. Thank you to those who have already volunteered!

    Zarina Dohadwala (Lurie Children’s, Chicago)
    Jawad Javed (OSF Children’s Hospital of Illinois, Peoria)
    Maliha Shareef (Loyola Univ Med Center, Chicago)

    Chris Peltier (Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center)
    Sladjana Courson (Akron Children’s Hospital)
    Lydia Furman (Rainbow Babies & Children’s, Cleveland)
    Katherine Mason (Rainbow Babies & Children’s, Cleveland)
    Mary Beth Wroblewski (Univ of Toledo)
    Rakhi Gupta Basurary (Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Columbus)

    Bill Stratbucker (Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital, Grand Rapids)
    Stacey Shubeck (Beaumont Children’s Hospital, Royal Oak)
    Amy Delaroche (Children’s Hospital of Michigan, Detroit)
    Maria Skoczylas (Univ of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

    Kim Schneider (Riley Children’s Hospital, Indianapolis)

Upcoming Event: Regional Conference 2019
Our next Regional Conference will be held on Friday, March 1, 2019 at Beaumont Health in Royal Oak, Michigan. Going forward, we will plan to have our regional conference always on the first Friday in March.

If you are interested in helping plan next year’s conference, please let us know! We meet via conference call to discuss speaker selection, food planning and recruitment of abstract reviewers. This is a great way to get involved!

Last year we had abstract reviewers from 12 institutions and we are always looking for more! Reviewers may choose the category they prefer (case presentations or original science/quality improvement abstracts) and will review 3-4 abstracts in early December. Thank you to those who have already volunteered! We will be contacting you this Fall.

As always, please let us know what we can do for you! Thank you for being an APA member.



    Current Region V Co-Chairs:

    Kimberly Schneider, MD
    Indiana University School of Medicine
    11621 Willow Springs Dr
    Zionsville, IN 46077
    Phone: (317) 948-2700

    Maliha Shareef, MD
    Loyola University Medical Center
    2160 South First Ave
    Maywood, IL 60153
    Phone: (708) 216-6967

    Stacey Shubeck, MD
    Beaumont Health
    3907 Reseda Rd
    Waterford, MI 48329
    Phone: (248) -51-4047

    Mary E Wroblewski, MD
    University of Toledo
    2109 Hughes Dr.
    Toledo, OH 43606
    Phone: (419) 291-7322




Renew Membership

Join APA


APA Journal